Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Some of my work
FightHype Community > BOXING HYPE > Boxing
Hodge
I'm a writer in the service and here is some of my published work on boxing. Me and co-worker were having the ol' boxing vs. ufc debate what we came up with. It's short because we were only alotted roughly 700 words. Thoughts and comments.

MMA arm bars Boxing's Chance of Recapturing Prominence
By MC3 Henry Vorderbruggen
Fleet PACEN NW
Many analysts in the sports world note the meteoric rise of Mixed Martial Arts (MMA), as a sign of the imminent fall of boxing. It could be argued the two organized fighting disciplines may exist in harmony, but it is necessary to defend MMA from its critics, especially boxing fans who feel threatened by the more complete, more popular sport of MMA.
As a former wrestler, I see boxing akin to how the Minutemen probably viewed the British army, marching in straight lines, easy to slaughter if you didn’t play by their rules. Boxing is what it is, a sometime entertaining sport and something I’ve always enjoyed watching.
What can be attributed to boxing’s demise is the internal conflicts and corruption seen in the sport since its early days. The dispersion of committees that govern the belts has created a veritable cornucopia of champions and virtually no household names. The corruption of greedy promoters who have their hooks in boxing makes for questionable outcomes, contenders out of nobodies, and an overall jaded feeling by its ardent fans.
What MMA has done, mostly through the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC), is base their fledging sport off everything that’s wrong in boxing. By organizing the weight classes and adopting a set of rules similar to other sanctioned combat sports, the UFC and other MMA leagues have filled the void created by boxing’s self-inflicted wounds. Dana White, a former boxing promoter and UFC President, knows what fans want to see and simply provides what boxing refuses to.