Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How Has Judging Been in MMA Contests?
FightHype Community > MMA HYPE > UFC
Jack 1000
I am new to MMA contests,

But what I have noticed is that some state commissions are using the same judges and refs for both boxing and MMA contests. I have seen boxing ref Armando Garcia also work MMA contests in Florida and I have seen several judges work both boxing and MMA contests in several state commissions.

What I was wondering with regards to the judging of MMA contests, for the fights that go to a decision, have most of the MMA decisions been fair? What big MMA contests have gone to the cards where a general consensus can be made that the loser was robbed? I am not sure if such information would indicate that MMA is producing fairer judging. Or is it that most MMA contests are ending in TKO stoppages or submissions anyway so there often is no need for the judges to render a decision?

Jack
HaydelHammer
I can't think of any main event questionable fights yet. A few non main, but then again there was no uproar about them since nobody knew who the hell they were anyway.

I haven't seen a questionable MAIN EVENT type matchup yet that was considered a "robbery" and created an uproar.

To be honest, most "main events" usually go one way and end the same way. Not like a boxing match where the guy can get his second wind and comeback late or some rds were so close to score so they could go either way.

A simple 5 minute boring a$$ round in MMA can be won simply by landing a big punch, getting a nice slam, or taking a guy to the mat and staying on him basically for the entire rd. (Knockdowns are nice also) for a guy to win a rd.

All it really takes is one of those things to happen and the other 4:50 can be completely boring for a guy to steal a rd.

All Title fights go 5 rds in the UFC. I can only speak for myself but....I am usually 100% correct by the end of rd 5 on who is going to win. the fight.